top of page

Is shortwave radio broadcasting dead?

What is your analysis of Shortwave broadcasting today?

Let me state that I have not been listening regularly (I was a journalist for MT and published many articles during the late 1980s and 1990s) to shortwave broadcasting since the early 2000s, but I still follow the developments of the field. My analysis is below and is of course my opinion:

Due to the proliferation of the internet streaming services and local rebroadcasting, and cost of broadcasting on shortwave, most, if not all, European broadcasters have ceased to broadcast to North America on shortwave and many others have stopped broadcasting. (Radio Sweden, BBC, Radio Netherlands, Radio Finland, Radio Australia, Kol Israel, Radio Norway to mention a few.)

There have been a significant decline in audiences for shortwave broadcasting globally since 1989. However, the shortwave bands still have as many broadcasters as the 1990s. Many propaganda services, such has Radio Vietnam and the China Radio International (formerly Radio Beijing) and religious broadcasts have replaced the established services on bands broadcasting to North America. A smaller audience still exists for shortwave today (mainly consisting of underserved areas of India, Asia and parts of Africa), but there are many outlets for international broadcasting since I wrote the articles aside from shortwave.

I think than my article published in 1993 about the working for the Communist Propaganda stations of Romania and Hungary is surprisingly relevant. You can read it on the internet archive.https://archive.org/details/SKMBTC28016091913230/page/n1/mode/2up

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page