top of page

Return to Little Russia Interview

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/699431

Also see my latest novel, "Russia Rising", which is available on Amazon and websites internationally.

What made you want to write "Return to Little Russia"?

This story is inspired by true events I experienced in Finland and New York City and is also based on my own Soviet jewish background, my life in Finland, the US goverments' political asylum program/immigration, living in Brighton Beach, NY, and association with Estonia. I also thought that corruption in New York City has not been examined much so wanted to tackle that issue also in a thriller format. It has been documented that immigration fraud and corruption was also a problem within the INS and wanted to fictionalize that experience. For more information, read the Preface at the beginning of the novel. My novel,"Return to Little Russia" is a story, which is inspired by true events, of a young man's journey from Finland to the United States and what he learns about his family who lived in Soviet occupied Estonia. It is also about what the main character learns about four dead Finnish peacekeepers in Yugoslavia, his future with his Finnish girlfriend Sofia, and the fate of his start-up IT company. Maksim Feldblyum Issacovich reflects one example of the Soviet Jewish experience in the United States.

I originally wrote the first draft while living in Israel in 2006 and then reedited it from 2014-2016 in several other drafts. I edited the novel from 60,000 words to its current 51,000 word count. The completed manuscript is a fast-paced, first-person novel with thriller, crime, and mystery elements.

Why did you write about Finland?

Finland was a neutral party during he cold war and also played a key role during the collapse of Communism in Estonia. The TV broadcasts from Finland played a key role in the weakening of the Soviet dictatorship, according to an interview with the former head of the Communist Party of Estonia. I don't think this relationship has been examined much in the Western media and is relevant today in view of the renewed Cold War. Further, I know of no American-based novel that has used Finnish street language, such as "niin", "mmm", and "joo", and has examined the differences between the countries using a fictional novel format. Also, I lived in Finland and this novel reflects that country at the time. Moreover, Sofia Valtonen is a strong female character in the novel and reflects many of the good and bad issues associated with the country.

Is not Brighton Beach, NY known as "Little Odessa"?

True, in the 1980s, the area was mostly Jewish Ukrainians from the south port city of Odessa. However, the neighborhood has always been populated by a variety of nationalities of Russian speaking immigrants. Most people know the country Russia. Consequently, I titled it to reflect the fact that its full of Russian speakers to this day.

How do you approach cover design?

The cover is designed to reflect the mystery/spy element of the story and the fact that it takes place in Brooklyn. The Left corner of the cover is the symbol of the SUPO/Finnish Security Intelligence Service. I called the story "Little Russia" so that the audience would know he lived in a Russian speaking neighborhood. The colors are those of the Russian try-color flag.

What is your writing background? Are you published?

Please read my biography for in-depth information about my background. In summary, I have written international feature articles for several magazines and newspapers, radio commercials for Congressmen, Senators, and a US President, intelligence pieces for several intelligence agencies that appeared within the President Daily Brief, and possess about ten years of legal writing experience that included summarizing political asylum claims (which are stories). I have been told my writing style is unique and it is likely because I have legal, intelligence, radio broadcast and journalistic experience. "Return to Little Russia" was my first novel and I have published "Russia Rising" recently also.

What was the most difficult aspect about writing "Return to Little Russia"?

I was writing the novel for a diverse audience so was not sure how much to put in the novel about the reality of Finland of the 1990s/INS New York-Asylum program while keeping the reader interested and the plot moving at a fast pace. I also wanted to keep the novel close to the story I experienced, but provide a fast-paced novel that has keeps the reader guessing.

What is some good-related reading associated to "Return to Little Russia?

I have written, "Russia Rising." Also, this is the link to the Helsinkin Sanomat article that I was interviewed about: http://www.hs.fi/ulkomaat/art-2000005046207.html.

Further, the New York Times wrote a good article about the asylum program called Industry of lies two years ago. Hope you enjoy the novel. Feel free to write a review, positive or negative, at goodreads or any other website!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page